Enabling or disabling the My Notes feature

Account owners and admins can enable or disable My Notes in the Zoom web portal. They can also configure related settings, including transcription, auto-start, AI-generated content, participant permissions, transcript access, notifications, retention policies, and more. Unless an account owner or admin has locked a setting, users can also manage their personal My Notes settings in the Zoom web portal.

The Zoom Workplace desktop app includes a setting for desktop notifications that prompt users to start My Notes when voice activity is detected. In addition, both the Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps allow users to control whether My Notes opens automatically when joining Zoom meetings and webinars or Zoom Phone calls. These auto-start settings can be managed directly within the Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps and automatically sync with the corresponding settings in the Zoom web portal.

Note: As a host, you can manage participants' access to My Notes transcription directly from the in-meeting controls.

Requirements for enabling or disabling My Notes features

Table of Contents

How to enable or disable the My Notes feature

Enable or disable the My Notes feature for the entire account

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable the My Notes feature for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Notes.
  5. Under My Notes, click the Enable My Notes toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled at the account level, you can configure the following settings under General:
  8. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled at the account level, you can configure the following setting under Zoom AI for My Notes:
  9. (Optional) Under My Notes in meeting, you can configure the following settings:
  10. (Optional) Under My Notes and transcript access, configure the following settings:
  11. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled at the account level, you can configure the following settings under Notification:
  12. (Optional) Under My Notes retention, you can manage My Notes and transcripts retention policies.
  13. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing these settings, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable the My Notes feature for a group of users

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable the My Notes feature for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click the My Notes tab.
  8. Under My Notes, click the Enable My Notes toggle to enable or disable it.
  9. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  10. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled, you can configure the following settings under General:
  11. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled, you can configure the following setting under Zoom AI for My Notes:
  12. (Optional) Under My Notes in meeting, you can configure the following settings:
  13. (Optional) Under My Notes and transcript access, configure the following settings:
  14. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled, you can configure the following settings under Notification:
  15. (Optional) Under My Notes retention, you can manage My Notes and transcripts retention policies.
    Note: If any of the above options are grayed out, they have been locked at the account level and must be changed at that level.
  16. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing these settings, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable the My Notes feature for your personal account

This setting allows individual users to enable or disable the My Notes feature for their personal account. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Settings.
  3. In the side menu, click Notes.
  4. Under My Notes, click the Enable My Notes toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You cannot change it yourself and must contact your Zoom admin.
  6. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled, you can configure the following settings under General:
  7. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled, you can configure the following setting under Zoom AI for My Notes:
  8. (Optional) Under My Notes in meeting, you can configure the following setting:
  9. (Optional) If Enable My Notes is enabled, you can configure the following settings under Notification:
  10. (Optional) Under My Notes retention, you can manage My Notes and transcripts retention policies.
    Note: If any of the above options are grayed out, they have been locked at either the group or account level. You cannot change it yourself and must contact your Zoom admin.

How to manage My Notes settings in the Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps

Users can configure additional My Notes settings in the Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps.

Manage desktop notifications to start My Notes when voice activity is detected

Users can control whether Zoom automatically prompts them to start a new note when voice activity is detected during a meeting. This setting also applies when using third-party apps, such as Microsoft Teams, Slack, or Google Chrome to capture notes and transcribe audio.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. Click your profile picture, then click Settings.
  3. Click the Notifications & sounds tab .
  4. Under Send desktop notifications for, click the Automatically detect voice activity to create My Notes toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. (Optional) To enable or disable voice activity detection notifications for a specific app, click Manage, then click the toggle next to that app.

Manage auto-start for My Notes

Users can configure whether My Notes automatically starts when joining Zoom meetings and webinars or Zoom Phone calls.

Note: Changes to auto-start settings sync across the Zoom Workplace desktop app, Zoom Workplace mobile app, and Zoom web portal. If an account owner or admin has locked a setting at the account or group level in the Zoom web portal, that setting cannot be changed by the user.

Manage auto-start for My Notes for Zoom meetings and webinars

Windows | macOS
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. Click your profile picture, then click Settings.
  3. Click the Meetings & webinars tab.
  4. Under When joining meetings and webinars, click the Auto-start My Notes toggle to enable or disable it.
Android | iOS
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace mobile app.
  2. In the top-left corner, tap your profile picture.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Tap Meetings .
  5. Tap the Auto-start My Notes toggle to enable or disable it.

Manage auto-start for My Notes for Zoom Phone calls

Windows | macOS
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. Click your profile picture, then click Settings.
  3. Click the Phone tab .
  4. Under Calling preferences, click the Auto-start My Notes toggle to enable or disable it.
Android | iOS
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace mobile app.
  2. In the top-left corner, tap your profile picture.
  3. Tap Settings.
  4. Tap Phone .
  5. Tap the Auto-start My Notes toggle to enable or disable it.