Using role management
Each user in a Zoom account automatically has a system role, which can be owner, administrator, or member. These roles are associated with a default set of permissions, which cannot be changed for the owner or member. These permissions control what users can access when they sign in to the web portal. Role-based access control enables your account to have additional user roles. User roles can have a set of permissions that allows access only to the pages a user needs to view or edit. In addition, you can change the permissions of the admin system role.
Only the account owner can initially create user roles and assign users to those roles. After a user role has been created, the owner (or others in a role with role management permissions) can assign users to that role, granting those users permission to view and edit a subset of pages belonging to the account.
You can see what type of role you currently have on your account profile page. If you are the account owner or admin, you can see what type of role other users have by managing users.
You can also set group admins for groups under your account, which do not affect your account roles. Group admins can manage the members and settings for that group. The group admin can also see if the group they manage is set as the primary group for users within the group. The group admin does not need to be an account admin or have role permissions to edit user groups.
Notes:
- Users can only be assigned a single role (account owner, admin, custom role, or member), but it is possible to be a group admin or be a group admin for multiple groups.
- You can also use role management for Zoom Phone and Zoom Contact Center.
Requirements for role management
- Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise account
- For setting the initial role, you must be the account owner
- Account owner or admin with the privileges or user with role management permissions
Note: Since only the owner can initially add a user role, Zoom recommends that the owner adds a role that allows at least one other person to manage user roles.
How to add initial user role management permissions
To add a role with privileges to create new roles and assign members:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Roles.
- On the All tab, click Add Role.
- Specify a name and description for the role, then click Add.
- On the Role Settings tab, under Users, groups and roles, click the checkbox in the Edit column for Role Management.
Note: This enables users in this role to create and manage user roles so that the Owner is not the only person who can perform this task. You can also click additional role settings checkboxes if you want users in this role to see or edit additional pages. - Click Enable.
- (Optional) Select the Add external delegated users as role members checkbox.
- Click Save Changes.
Note: The Role Management role can also be added to an existing role, like Admin for example.
How to add more roles
Only the account owner and users who have edit privileges for role management can add roles and add users to those roles.
To add a role with specific privileges:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Roles.
- On the All tab, click Add Role.
- Specify a name and description for the role.
- Select one or more check boxes to enable permissions for users in this role to see or edit those pages.
- Click Save Changes.
How to add members to a role
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Roles.
- On the All tab, click Edit
on the applicable role name from the list. - Click the Role Members tab.
- Click Add Members.
- Enter the email address or name of the user you wish to add. If adding multiple users, select the checkbox next to their name.
- Click Add.
How to change user role
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Users.
- On the Users tab, select the checkbox next to each user you want to assign a different role to.
- Click the Role tab.
- From the Change role window, select the new User Role from the drop-down.
- Click Save.
How to change permissions for a role
You can change the permissions and scope assigned to a role at any time. Admins can manage users, Dashboard, reports, and cloud recordings for meetings and webinars at a group level by defining a custom scope in Role Management.
To change the permissions for an existing role:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as the account owner or user with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Roles.
- On the All tab, click Edit
on the applicable role name from the list. - Click the Role Settings tab.
- Under the View and Edit columns, select the check boxes that enable permissions for users in this role to see or edit those pages.
- Under the Scope column, click the dropdown menu to select the following:
- Entire Account: This will enable permissions that will allow your selected role to see and manage groups in the entire account.
- Custom Scope: When you click Custom Scope, a Custom scope window will appear. You will need to select groups or locations depending on the setting.
- Standard settings: Search and select 1 or more groups that will be included in this scope. The selected role will only be able to see and manage users in the selected groups.
In the Custom scope window, click Save to save your changes. The number of selected groups from your custom scope will appear in the dropdown menu that you just edited. - Zoom Rooms, Digital Signage, or Workspace Management: Use the location hierarchy to select which locations you want included in the scope. The selected role will only be able to manage the selected locations.
In the Custom scope window, click Save to save your changes. The number of selected locations from your custom scope will appear in the dropdown menu that you just edited. - (Optional) To edit your custom scope, click the dropdown menu then click Edit to make changes.
- At the bottom of the page, click Save Changes.
Manage Dashboard and Reports permissions
If an admin with only group-level access is viewing a dashboard or report, they will now see a dropdown menu to select the group they want to view. This dropdown menu will not appear if they are only assigned to one group. Instead, they will automatically be viewing the report/dashboard for their one group.
Manage recording permissions
After a user is assigned to a group, the group admin can see the recording management section of the admin portal. If the group admin manages less than 1,000 users, the recording management page automatically populates with the most recent recordings. If the group admin is managing more than 1,000 users, they will have to refine their search criteria before seeing recordings.
Manage user permissions
If an admin with only group-level access is viewing the Users page under User Management, they will only see and manage users in the selected groups.
How to delete role members
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as the account owner or user with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Roles.
- On the All tab, click Edit
on the applicable role name from the list then click the Role Members tab.
Alternatively, click the number of members on the applicable role name from the list, this automatically goes to the Role Members tab. - To the right of the user you want to remove, click remove
. - If a verification dialog displays, click Remove to confirm.
Batch delete role members
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as the account owner or user with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Roles.
- On the All tab, click Edit
on the applicable role name from the list then click the Role Members tab.
Alternatively, click the number of members on the applicable role name from the list, this automatically goes to the Role Members tab. - Select the checkboxes of the users you want to remove.
- Click Remove Selected.
- If a verification dialog displays, click Remove to confirm.