Enabling Chat Summarize with AI

Admins can control the use of Summarize with AI for Chat. Chat Summarize with AI leverages AI technology, which may include third-party models, to help users summarize lengthy threads and catch up on important details at a glance.

When the Chat Summarize with AI feature is disabled but unlocked by admins, users will see a call-to-action (CTA) within Chat. This CTA offers a brief overview of the feature, a prominent Enable button to activate it directly within the chat interface, and an option to dismiss the prompt if users choose not to engage. This design helps users easily discover and opt into the feature.

Learn more about using Chat Summarize with AI, how Zoom AI features handle your data, and supported languages for AI features.

Requirements for enabling and disabling Summarize with AI for Chat

Note: Zoom AI may not be available for select verticals and select regional customers.

Table of Contents

How to enable or disable Summarize with AI for Chat

Enable or disable Summarize with AI for the entire account

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Summarize with AI for Chat for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Zoom AI.
  5. Under Zoom Chat, click the Summarize with AI toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

If the Chat Summarize with AI feature is disabled, an additional setting will appear below, allowing admins to control whether the Summarize with AI option is visible in Chat. If it is shown, users can request to have the feature enabled, which sends an which sends an enablement request emZoom AIl from Zoom to all admins.

Enable or disable Summarize with AI for a group of users

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Summarize with AI for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click the Zoom AI tab.
  8. Under Zoom Chat, click the Summarize with AI toggle to enable or disable it.
  9. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and must be changed at that level.
  10. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable Summarize with AI for your personal account

This setting allows individual users to enable or disable Summarize with AI for their personal account. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click My account.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Zoom AI.
  5. Under Zoom Chat, click the Summarize with AI toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You cannot change it yourself and must contact your Zoom admin.

Note: By default, the Summarize with AI feature is enabled for you when the admin enables it for your account. You can toggle the settings without needing to restart or re-log in to the Zoom Workplace app. If the Summarize with AI feature is unlocked but disabled, the setting will be hidden. However, if the feature is both unlocked and enabled, the setting will be visible and enabled by default until you choose to disable it.

Note on data usage

Zoom does not use any customer audio, video, chat, screen sharing, attachments or other communications-like content (such as poll results, whiteboard and reactions) to trZoom AIn Zoom’s or third-party Zoom AI models.

We evaluate and update our models periodically and those used to support Zoom Zoom AI may change from time to time. For features in Zoom AI that use third-party Zoom AI model providers, we will share relevant data with those third-parties when you use the feature. For example, if you use Thread Summary to help condense a threaded discussion in Zoom Chat, the chat thread messages and chat participant names will be sent to the relevant model to provide the service. Data may be processed within U.S. based data centers.

Learn more about how Zoom uses data to provide Zoom Zoom AI features.