Deleting and recovering deleted notes

note icon
Classic Notes no longer supports creating new notes. Existing notes remain accessible and retain their functionality through the Zoom web portal and Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps on versions earlier than 6.7.5. To create new notes, use My Notes through the Zoom Web App, Zoom Workplace desktop app, or Zoom Workplace mobile app. Learn more about using My Notes.

Account owners and co-owners can delete notes from the Zoom Workplace desktop app or Zoom web portal. When notes are deleted, they are moved to the trash. In the Trash tab, you can recover deleted notes within 30 days, or delete them permanently.

Requirements for deleting a note

Table of Contents

How to delete a note

Windows | macOS | Linux
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the navigation bar, click the Notes tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Notes tab , click the More tab , then select Notes .
  3. Open the desired note.
  4. Click More.
  5. Click Move to Trash.
    The deleted note will be moved to the Trash.
    Note: This option is only available for notes you've created. Instead, you can choose Leave Note, to leave a note that has been shared with you or you co-own.
  6. (Optional) To delete multiple notes:
    1. Click the checkboxes beside the desired notes.
    2. In the top right corner, click Move to trash.
    3. When prompted, click Move.
Web
  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click the Zoom Products icon .
  3. In the Zoom Products menu, click Notes.
    Notes will open in a new browser tab.
  4. Under Classic Notes, open the desired note.
  5. Click the More icon .
  6. Click Move to Trash.
    The deleted note will be moved to the Trash tab.
    Note: This option is only available for notes you've created. Instead, you can choose Leave Note, to leave a note that has been shared with you.

How to recover a deleted note from the trash

Windows | macOS | Linux
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the navigation bar, click the Notes tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Notes tab , click the More tab , then select Notes .
  3. In the side menu, click Trash.
  4. To the right of the desired note, click the More icon , then click Restore.
  5. When prompted, click Restore.
  6. (Optional) To recover multiple notes:
    1. Click the checkboxes beside the desired notes.
    2. At the top of the dashboard, click Restore.
    3. When prompted, click Restore.
Web
  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click the Zoom Products icon .
  3. In the Zoom Products menu, click Notes.
    Notes will open in a new browser tab.
  4. Under Classic Notes, click Trash.
  5. To the right of the desired note, click the More icon , then click Restore.
  6. When prompted, click Restore.
  7. (Optional) To recover multiple notes:
    1. Click the checkboxes beside the desired notes.
    2. At the top of the dashboard, click Restore.
    3. When prompted, click Restore.