Sharing a note

note icon
Classic Notes no longer supports creating new notes. Existing notes remain accessible and retain their functionality through the Zoom web portal and Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps on versions earlier than 6.7.5. To create new notes, use My Notes through the Zoom Web App, Zoom Workplace desktop app, or Zoom Workplace mobile app. Learn more about using My Notes.

Classic Notes can be shared in and out of the meeting, either from the Notes dashboard or from within the note itself.

When you share your notes, you can also set the user’s permission to view, edit, or become a co-owner. When enabled by an admin, notes can also be shared with anyone in your organization or with external users.

Requirements for sharing Classic Notes

Limitations of sharing Classic Notes

Table of Contents

How to share a note during a meeting

  1. Start a meeting from the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the meeting controls toolbar, click the Notes icon .
  3. At the top right, click New or click an existing note you would like to edit.
  4. Click the Share icon .
  5. Under Share with Meeting collaborators, click Share to Meeting.
  6. In the next window, select the desired permissions for the participants:
  7. (Optional) Enable Allow persistent access to verified meeting participants after closing the document to allow participants access to the note after the note has been closed or the meeting ended.
    Note: Participants must be signed in to a Zoom account when joining the meeting to be given persistent access to the note.
  8. Click Share Note.
    Note: From the in-meeting window, notes can also be shared with other users who are not participating in the meeting.

How to share a note outside of a meeting

Windows | macOS | Linux
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the navigation bar, click the Notes tab.
    Note: If you don't see the Notes tab, click the More tab , then click Notes.
  3. Open or create a new note.
  4. In the top right corner, click Share.
  5. Enter the email address, name of the contact, or Chat channel you would like to share the note with, and set their permissions.
  6. (Optional) Under Invite Message, enter a message that will be sent to the collaborators.
  7. Click Share Note.
Android | iOS
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace mobile app.
  2. In the navigation bar, tap the Notes tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Notes tab , tap the More tab , then tap Notes .
  3. Open or create a new note.
  4. In the top right corner, tap Share.
  5. Enter the email address, name of the contact, or Chat channel you would like to share the note with, and set their permissions.
  6. (Optional) Under Invite Message, enter a message that will be sent to the collaborators.
  7. Tap Share Note.
Web
  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click the Zoom Products icon .
  3. In the Zoom Products menu, click Notes.
    Notes will open in a new browser tab.
  4. Under Classic Notes, open or create a new note.
  5. In the top right corner, click Share.
  6. Enter the email address, name of the contact, or Chat channel you would like to share the note with, and set their permissions.
  7. (Optional) Under Invite Message, enter a message that will be sent to the new collaborators.
  8. Click Share Note.

How to manage share permissions for a note

Windows | macOS | Linux
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the navigation bar, click the Notes tab.
    Note: If you don't see the Notes tab, click the More tab , then click Notes.
  3. Open or create a new note.
  4. In the top right corner, click Share.
  5. (Optional) Next to Shared with Project, select the project you want to share the note with.
  6. Edit the sharing permissions for the note:
    1. Next to Shared with Project, select the project you want to share the note with.
    2. Enable or disable advanced sharing options:
      • Anyone can share at or below their level: This allows users who have been shared a note to share it with others and assign the same permission level to them, or a lower permission level.
      • External users can be invited: This feature enables external users who have been granted access to a note to invite other users to view it.
    3. Under Link Access, set the behavior for when someone attempts to open a note via the link:
      • Only invited members can access this note: Only those who have been invited to view the note can view it via the shared link.
      • Anyone at [Organization name]: Any users on the account can view the note via the shared link.
      • Anyone with the link can view this note: Any user (internal or external) can view the note via the shared link.
Android | iOS
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace mobile app.
  2. In the navigation bar, tap the Notes tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Notes tab , tap the More tab , then tap Notes .
  3. Open or create a new note.
  4. In the top right corner, tap Share.
  5. (Optional) If a note has already been shared with a user, change their permission level, or tap Remove to revoke access to the note.
  6. Edit the sharing permissions for the note:
    1. Next to Shared with Project, select the project you want to share the note with.
    2. Enable or disable advanced sharing options:
      • Anyone can share at or below their level: This allows users who have been shared a note to share it with others and assign the same permission level to them, or a lower permission level.
      • External users can be invited: This feature enables external users who have been granted access to a note to invite other users to view it.
    3. Under Link Access, set the behavior for when someone attempts to open a note via the link:
      • Only invited members can access this note: Only those who have been invited to view the note can view it via the shared link.
      • Anyone at [Organization name]: Any users on the account can view the note via the shared link.
      • Anyone with the link can view this note: Any user (internal or external) can view the note via the shared link.
Web
  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click the Zoom Products icon .
  3. In the Zoom Products menu, click Notes.
    Notes will open in a new browser tab.
  4. Under Classic Notes, open or create a new note.
  5. (Optional) If a note has already been shared with a user, change their permission level, or tap Remove to revoke access to the note.
  6. Edit the sharing permissions for the note:
    1. Next to Shared with Project, select the project you want to share the note with.
    2. Enable or disable advanced sharing options:
      • Anyone can share at or below their level: This allows users who have been shared a note to share it with others and assign the same permission level to them, or a lower permission level.
      • External users can be invited: This feature enables external users who have been granted access to a note to invite other users to view it.
    3. Under Link Access, set the behavior for when someone attempts to open a note via the link:
      • Only invited members can access this note: Only those who have been invited to view the note can view it via the shared link.
      • Anyone at [Organization name]: Any users on the account can view the note via the shared link.
      • Anyone with the link can view this note: Any user (internal or external) can view the note via the shared link.