Managing notes from the Notes dashboard

note icon
Classic Notes (Zoom Notes) no longer supports creating new notes. Existing notes remain accessible and retain their functionality through the Zoom web portal and Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps on versions earlier than 6.7.5. To create new notes, use My Notes through the Zoom Web App, Zoom Workplace desktop app, or Zoom Workplace mobile app. Learn more about using My Notes.

The Notes dashboard displays all notes that you have created or shared with you. You can create, open, delete, star, and share notes with other users from the dashboard page. Created notes are saved automatically so you can access them anytime during or outside the meeting.

Table of Contents

How to manage notes while in a meeting

Windows | macOS | Linux
  1. Start a meeting from the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the meeting controls toolbar, click the Notes icon.
    The Notes dashboard will display.
  3. In the Notes menu, choose from the following options:
    • All Notes (All): Displays all notes visible to you.
    • Recent: Displays the notes you created or opened recently.
    • My Notes (My): Displays all notes you have created.
    • Shared with me (Shared): Displays all notes others have directly shared with you.
      Note: Notes shared via a Chat channel will not be displayed here.
    • Starred: Displays notes that have been starred.
    • Trash: Displays all deleted notes currently in the trash.
      Note: The Notes window may need to be resized for Trash to be displayed.
  4. In addition, you can utilize the search bar within each tab, and filter options in the top left to also find the desired note.
  5. Once you found the desired note, you can open the note or click the More icon for additional options, including:
    • Share: Allows you to share the note with meeting participants or other collaborators.
    • Lock: Temporarily prevents editors and viewers from opening and editing a note, while owners and co-owners retain full editing functionality.
    • Add to Starred: Add the note to the Starred tab in the Notes dashboard.
    • Rename: Update the name of the note.
    • Duplicate: Creates a copy of the current note.
    • View activity: Displays the change history for the note.
    • Move to Trash: Deletes the note and moves it to the trash.
Learn more about creating and editing notes.

How to manage notes out of a meeting

Windows | macOS | Linux
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the navigation bar, click the Notes tab.
    Note: If you don't see the Notes tab, click the More tab , then click Notes.
  3. In the left menu, choose from the following tabs:
    • All Notes: Displays all notes visible to you.
    • Recent: Displays the notes you created or opened recently.
    • My notes: Displays all notes you have created.
    • Shared with me (Shared): Displays all notes others have directly shared with you.
      Note: Notes shared via a Chat channel will not be displayed here.
    • Starred: Displays notes that have been starred.
    • Trash: Displays all deleted notes currently in the trash.
  4. In addition to using the tabs above, you can utilize the search bar within each tab, in the top left to find the desired note.
  5. Once you found the desired note, you can open the note or click the More icon for additional options, including:
    • Lock: Temporarily prevents editors and viewers from opening and editing a note, while owners and co-owners retain full editing functionality.
    • Rename: Update the name of the note.
    • Duplicate: Creates a copy of the current note.
    • View activity: Displays the change history for the note.
    • Move to Trash: Deletes the note and moves it to the trash.
  6. (Optional) To the right of the note, click the Share icon to share the note with other collaborators.

Learn more about creating and editing notes.

Web
  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click the Zoom Products icon .
  3. In the Zoom Products menu, click Notes.
    Notes will open in a new browser tab.
  4. Under Classic Notes, choose from the following tabs:
    • All Notes: Displays all notes visible to you.
    • Recent: Displays the notes you created or opened recently.
    • My notes: Displays all notes you have created.
    • Shared with me: Displays all notes others have directly shared with you.
      Note: Notes shared via a Chat channel will not be displayed here.
    • Starred: Displays notes that have been starred.
    • Trash: Displays all deleted notes currently in the trash.
  5. Once you found the desired note, you can open the note or click the More icon for additional options, including:
    • Lock: Temporarily prevents editors and viewers from opening and editing a note, while owners and co-owners retain full editing functionality.
    • Rename: Update the name of the note.
    • Duplicate: Creates a copy of the current note.
    • Open in new tab: Opens the desired note in a new browser tab.
    • View activity: Displays the change history for the note.
    • Move to Trash: Deletes the note and moves it to the trash.
  6. (Optional) To the right of the note, click the Share icon to share the note with other collaborators.
Learn more about creating and editing notes.