Managing Zoom Notes user permissions

note icon
Classic Notes no longer supports creating new notes. Existing notes remain accessible and retain their functionality through the Zoom web portal and Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps on versions earlier than 6.7.5. To create new notes, use My Notes through the Zoom Web App, Zoom Workplace desktop app, or Zoom Workplace mobile app. Learn more about using My Notes.

To manage the level of control that other users have over a note, note owners can adjust the permission settings for those who are granted access. This article will cover the different types of permissions that can be assigned to users, as well as the corresponding actions that each permission level allows them to perform.

Requirements for managing Zoom Notes user permissions

Table of Contents

User permission types for Zoom Notes

PrivilegeOwner/Co-ownerEditor

Viewer

Invite usersYesYesNo*
Remove usersYesNoNo
Change user rolesYesNoNo
Assign co-ownerYesNoNo
Rename noteYesNoNo
Delete noteYesNoNo
Add/delete/modify contentsYesYesNo

*Note: Anyone can share at or below their level must be enabled for other users to be able to share the note.

How to set or change the permission level for users with access to a note

  1. Create or open a note.
  2. At the top left of the notes page, click Share.
  3. Enter the contact names, Zoom Chat channel, or email addresses of the users you would like to share the note with.
  4. Set their permissions with the drop-down arrow to the right of the entry box.
  5. To change the permission of a user who already has access to the note, click the drop-down arrow to the right or the user’s name and choose a new permission level.
  6. (Optional) Enable or disable Anyone can share at or below their level.
  7. (Optional) Enable or disable External users can be invited.
    Note: If enabling, click the drop-down arrow and whether external users can or cannot invite other users to the note.

How to remove a user's access to a note

  1. Create or open a note.
  2. At the top left of the note page, click Share.
  3. Next to the name of the user you want to remove, click the drop-down arrow and select Remove.