Managing sharing settings for Zoom Notes

note icon
Classic Notes (Zoom Notes) no longer supports creating new notes. Existing notes remain accessible and retain their functionality through the Zoom web portal and Zoom Workplace desktop and mobile apps on versions earlier thanĀ 6.7.5. To create new notes, use My Notes through the Zoom Web App, Zoom Workplace desktop app, or Zoom Workplace mobile app. Learn more about using My Notes.

With Zoom Notes, notes can be shared with users within the organization, meeting participants, and even users external to the organization. In addition to sharing, users and admins can manage the default sharing permissions for Zoom Notes.

Requirements for managing sharing settings for Zoom Notes

Table of Contents

How to manage the default access level when sharing a note

Manage the default access level when sharing a note for the entire account

This setting allows account owners or admins to manage the default access level when sharing a note for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Notes.
  5. Click Deprecated Notes, then click Notes Sharing Defaults.
  6. Under Who can access, select the access permissions:
  7. Click Save.

Manage the default access level when sharing a note for a group of users

This setting allows account owners or admins to manage the default access level when sharing a note for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click My Notes, then click Deprecated Notes.
  8. Click Notes Sharing Defaults.
  9. Under Who can access, select the access permissions:
  10. Click Save.

Manage the default access level when sharing a note for your personal account

This setting allows individual users to manage the default access level when sharing a note for their personal account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Settings.
  3. Click Notes, then click Deprecated Notes.
  4. Click Notes Sharing Defaults.
  5. Under Who can access, select the access permissions:
  6. Click Save.

How to manage the default advanced sharing settings for notes

Manage the default advanced sharing settings for the entire account

This setting allows account owners or admins to manage the default advanced sharing settings for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Notes.
  5. Click Deprecated Notes, then click Notes Sharing Defaults.
  6. Under Default advanced sharing settings, select one of the following settings:
  7. Click Save.

Manage the default advanced sharing settings for a group of users

This setting allows account owners or admins to manage the default advanced sharing settings for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click My Notes, then click Deprecated Notes.
  8. Click Notes Sharing Defaults.
  9. Under Default advanced sharing settings, select one of the following settings:
  10. Click Save.

Manage the default advanced sharing settings for your personal account

This setting allows individual users to manage the default advanced sharing settings for their personal account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Settings.
  3. Click Notes, then click Deprecated Notes.
  4. Click Notes Sharing Defaults.
  5. Under Default advanced sharing settings, select one of the following settings:
  6. Click Save.