Using Data & Privacy for data management
The Data & Privacy feature provides account owners with the necessary tools to efficiently manage user data related to meetings, webinars, chat, and whiteboards. It grants you the ability to easily request the export or removal of your users' data, including data of participants who attended your meetings within a specified period. You can target up to 50 users simultaneously. Furthermore, you have the option to track the status of these requests and cancel any pending requests that have not been processed yet. Additional roles can also be enabled through role settings to help manage data requests, allowing for greater flexibility and delegation across your organization.
Requirements for using Data & Privacy for data management
- All account types
- Account owners and admin privileges
How to manage the data consent settings
Data Consent settings under the Data & Privacy menu make it easier for Zoom customers to find information about the data Zoom collects and how they are used, allowing them to make informed choices about their privacy.
Learn more about Data consent settings in our Data & Privacy Center.
Enable or disable Optional Diagnostic Data for the entire account
This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Optional Diagnostic Data for all users in the account.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Security and trust
. - Click Data and Privacy then Data settings.
- Under Diagnostic Data Preferences, click the Optional Diagnostic Data toggle to enable or disable it.
Note: The Required Diagnostic Data setting cannot be disabled. Required diagnostic data is collected to provide and operate Zoom’s services, to provide support, and for troubleshooting. Identifiers may be collected if needed to operate the services.
Enable or disable personalization preferences for the entire account
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Security and trust
. - Click Data and Privacy then Data settings.
- Under Personalization Preferences, click the toggle to enable or disable the following:
- Personalized Account Experiences: Allow Zoom to use your account level data to provide personalized tips, communications, and recommendations to enhance your Zoom experience.
- Personalized User Experiences: Control whether users in your account can enable personalized tips, communications, and recommendations to enhance their Zoom experience.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
Enable or disable Optional Diagnostic Data for your personal account
This setting allows individual users to enable or disable Optional Diagnostic Data for their personal account. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Profile.
- Click Data and Privacy then Data settings.
- Under Diagnostic Data Preferences, click the Optional Diagnostic Data toggle to enable or disable it.
Notes:
- If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level. You cannot change it yourself and must contact your Zoom admin.
- The Required Diagnostic Data setting cannot be disabled. Required diagnostic data is collected to provide and operate Zoom’s services, to provide support, and for troubleshooting. Identifiers may be collected if needed to operate the services.
Enable or disable personalization preferences for your personal account
This setting allows individual users to enable or disable personalization preferences for their personal account. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Profile.
- Click Data and Privacy then Data settings.
- Under Personalization Preferences, click the Personalized Experiences toggle to enable or disable it.
Notes:
- If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level. You cannot change it yourself and must contact your Zoom admin.
- Enabling Personalized Experiences allows Zoom to use your usage data to provide personalized tips, communications, and recommendations to enhance your Zoom experience.
How to access Data & Privacy to manage and review your requests
When requesting an export or deletion of your user data, you will receive email notifications when your request is received and completed.
Export or delete data
When requesting to export user data, a link to the requested data is emailed to you within 30 days. Exporting cloud meeting recordings data is handled through Recording Management and exporting chat history in Chat is handled through Chat History Report.
Note: Be aware that the request to delete data can only be canceled within a 30-minute timeframe. Once the data is deleted, it cannot be recovered.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Security and trust
. - Click Data and Privacy then Data subject requests section, under Export or delete data, select one of the following:
- Export data: Export your user data.
- Under Select users, enter your users' email addresses separated by commas or upload a CSV file to enter up to 50 users at once.
Note: You can click Upload CSV to download an example of a CSV file to get started. You can upload up to 50 email addresses at a time. - Under Date range, select the appropriate date range.
- Click Request data.
- Delete data: Delete the data of the selected user(s).
- Under Select users, enter your users' email addresses separated by commas or upload a CSV file to enter up to 50 users at once.
Note: You can click Upload CSV to download an example of a CSV file to get you started. - Click Delete data, then click Delete to confirm.
- Under date range, click the drop-down to select your preferred data range.
Access export or delete data request
You may cancel a deletion request within 30 minutes after requesting.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Security and trust
. - Click Data and Privacy then Data subject history.
Any pending requests you create will be displayed in this tab. - View the following:
- Date: The date and time the request was submitted.
- Email(s): The email address of the user you requested for data to be exported or deleted.
- Requestor: The name of the user that made the request. If you have allowed users to request their own data, then this will show their name when they make their own request.
- Request type: The request type as being to be deleted or exported.
- Data type: Type of data to be deleted or exported such as personal data collected by use of Zoom Meetings, Zoom Webinars, Zoom Chat, and Whiteboard.
Note: Security data such as passwords and encryption keys are not exported. - Date range: The date range of the data was exported.
Note: Only applicable to data to be exported. - Status: Status of your request as being Pending, Processing, Canceled, Failed, or Completed.
- (Optional) To the far right of a request, click Revoke if the request is still pending and you no longer want to fulfill it.
- (Optional) To the far right of a request, click Download to download the zip file of the exported for your user(s).
Note: The zip file expires after 90 days. When this happens the Download button will be replaced by Download link expired text. You can submit a new export request to create a new zip file.
How to export or delete your data as an external participant
To export or delete your data, do the following:
- If you were an external participant in a meeting or webinar, you can contact the host of the event or the account owner to export or delete your data.
- If you are an external participant in a chat or whiteboard, you can contact the owner of the chat or whiteboard to export or delete your data.