Designate specific users to reserve specific workspaces


Account owners and admins can designate and reserve a specific group of workspaces on the floor map for their teams, creating neighborhoods. Neighborhoods allow specific groups or individuals to have access to specific workspaces with custom time rules. When users have been assigned to a specific workspace by an account owner or admin, the users will only be shown the available allowed workspaces. Account owners and admins can use this setting to set restrictions on users who can book specific workspaces. For example, an admin can set Group A to reserve a set group of desks on Monday and Wednesday from 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM, with another group reserving those seats on Tuesday and Thursday.

Account owners and admins can also assign a user a permanent desk. Permanent desks are not reservable and will always display the assigned user at that desk. This feature displays users, who come into the office every day, and their permanent desks on the floor map

Notes:

This article covers:

Prerequisites for designating specific users to reserve specific workspaces

Floor map tools

In the toolbar on the right side of the screen, use the following tools to designate specific users to reserve specific workspaces:

How to assign a permanent desk

You can use this setting to assign a permanent desk to a user. The user will always have to sit at their permanent desk.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Workspaces Management then Workspaces.
  3. Use location hierarchy to access the floor level you want to enable this setting for.
  4. Click Floor Settings for that location.
  5. Under Basic, and under the Designate specific groups or users to be able to reserve specific workspaces setting, click Assign workspaces on floor map .
    You will be directed to the location's floor map.
  6. In the left panel, click the Ungrouped dropdown arrow and select a desk from the expanded list.
    After selecting a desk, a panel will appear.
  7. In the panel, click Create a Permanent Desk.
  8. Under Allowed User, enter and select a user name.
  9. Click Done.
    A permanent desk will be created for that user. After creating a permanent desk. This desk will become a separate group in the left navigation menu called Permanent Desk.

The assigned user can use the permanent desk all the time without reservation.

Remove users from a permanent desk

  1. Assign a user to a permanent desk on the floor map.
  2. In the left navigation panel, under Permanent Desk, click a permanent desk.
    A panel will appear on the right side of the screen.
  3. In the panel, under Allowed User, click Unassign User.
    A confirmation window will appear.
  4. In the confirmation window, click Unassign.
    The user will be unassigned from the permanent desk.

How to create a neighborhood

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the navigation menu, click Workspaces Management then Workspaces.
  3. Use location hierarchy to access the floor level you want to enable this setting for.
  4. Click Floor Settings for that location.
  5. Under Basic, and under the Designate specific groups or users to be able to reserve specific workspaces setting, click Assign workspaces on floor map .
    You will be directed to the location's floor map.
  6. On the floor map, create a neighborhood the following ways:
    Note: After selecting the workspaces you want, a panel will appear.
    • Move your cursor and create a square around the workspaces you want to be included in the neighborhood, or
    • Hold Shift and select one or more workspaces to assign users to a neighborhood, or
    • Select a workspace in the left panel
  7. In the panel, enter and edit the following information:
    • Neighborhood Name: Add a neighborhood name.
    • Workspaces: View the workspaces that are selected to be grouped in the neighborhood. To remove a workspace, hover your mouse over the workspace you want to remove and click the trash icon .
    • Allowed User Groups: Select the user groups you want to allow access to the neighborhood.
    • Allowed Users: Select the users you want to allow access to the neighborhood.
    • Set Schedule: Click the toggle to enable or disable it.
      • When enabled, select a specific schedule (days and times) when this neighborhood is active. Days and times will follow the set timezone.
        Note: Workspace admins are not restricted.
    • Restrict group members to assigned workspaces: Click the toggle to enable or disable it.
      • When enabled, users assigned to this neighborhood will only be able to reserve workspaces within this neighborhood. They cannot reserve other workspaces on the same floor.
        Note: Workspace admins are not restricted.
  8. Click Done.
    A neighborhood will be created for the assigned users and groups. After creating a neighborhood, the neighborhood will appear as a separate group in the left navigation menu.

Delete neighborhood

  1. Create a neighborhood.
  2. In the left navigation menu, click the neighborhood you want to remove.
    A panel will appear.
  3. In the panel, click Delete Group.
    A confirmation window will appear.
  4. In the window, click Delete to confirm.