Enabling meeting and webinar auto-saving chats
Enabling auto-saving chats allows meeting hosts and webinar hosts/panelists to automatically save a copy of their in-meeting and in-webinar chats on their computer so they don't need to manually save the text of the chat after the meeting or webinar starts. Learn more about saving in-meeting chat.
This chat transcript contains all messages that you were able to see from your connection to the meeting. This includes any private messages sent to you or that you sent, but does not include private messages between other participants.
Note: In-meeting/webinar chats will not be saved if you start your meeting or webinar from the Zoom mobile app.
Requirements for enabling or disabling meeting and webinar auto-saving chats
- Account owner or admin privileges
How to enable or disable Meeting chat - Auto-save
Account
To enable or disable Meeting chat - Auto-save for all users in the account:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Settings
. - Click the Meeting tab.
- Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Meeting chat - Auto-save toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
- (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon
, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
Group
To enable or disable Meeting chat - Auto-save for a group of users:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Groups.
- Click the applicable group name from the list.
- In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
- Click the Meeting tab.
- Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Meeting chat - Auto-save toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level. - (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon
, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
User
To enable or disable Meeting chat - Auto-save for your own use:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Settings.
- Click the Meeting tab.
- Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Meeting chat - Auto-save toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level and needs to be changed at that level. You need to contact your Zoom admin.
How to enable or disable Webinar chat - Auto-save
Account
To enable or disable Webinar chat - Auto-save for all users in the account:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Settings
. - Click the Webinar tab.
- Under In Webinar, click the Chat - Auto-save toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
- (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon
, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
Group
To enable or disable Webinar chat - Auto-save for a group of users:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Groups.
- Click the applicable group name from the list.
- In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
- Click the Webinar tab.
- Under In Webinar, click the Chat - Auto-save toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level. - (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon
, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
User
To enable or disable Webinar chat - Auto-save for your own use:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Settings.
- Click the Webinar tab.
- Under In Webinar, click the Chat - Auto-save toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level and needs to be changed at that level. You need to contact your Zoom admin.