Locking the meeting/webinar topic or description

Account owners and admins can force all meetings to use Zoom Meetings as the topic and force all webinars to use Zoom Webinars as the topic. You can also lock the description so that users can't set a description for meetings or webinars.

This feature is useful when trying to prevent sensitive information from being entered as the topic or description in a meeting or webinar.

Requirements for locking the meeting/webinar topic or description

Table of Contents

How to lock the meeting or webinar topic or description

Account

Note: You can only lock the meeting or webinar description at the account level.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. Under Schedule Meeting, click the following toggles to enable or disable them:
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) Select the following checkboxes, click Save, then click Continue:
  8. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing these settings, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click the Meeting tab.
  8. Under Schedule Meeting, click the following toggles to enable or disable them.
  9. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  10. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing these settings, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.