Managing advanced screen sharing settings
The Zoom desktop client includes advanced screen sharing options that provide more control of the shared content and troubleshooting support.
Note: These features are intended for advanced technical users. Toggling these options without knowledge of a device's hardware and software configuration can result in a sub-standard user experience. If you are looking for more basic screen sharing settings, learn more about changing settings in the desktop client or mobile app.
Prerequisites for advanced screen share settings
- Zoom desktop client
- Windows: 5.3.0 (52651.0920) or higher
- macOS: 5.3.0 (52651.0920) or higher
- Linux: 5.3.465578.0920 or higher
How to access advanced screen share options
- Sign in to the Zoom desktop client.
- Click your profile picture, then click Settings.
- Click the Share Screen tab.
- Click Advanced.
- The following options are available (depending on your operating system):
- Limit your screen share to ___ frames-per-second (Windows, macOS, Linux): Limits your screen-share feed to specific frames per second. You can enable this if you don't meet the bandwidth requirements for screen sharing.
- Show green border around the shared content (Windows, macOS, Linux): A green border is displayed around the edge of your screen when screen sharing a desktop/monitor to make it easier to identify which screen is being shared.
- Share selected app window only (macOS)
- Use TCP connection for screen sharing (Windows, macOS, Linux): Enable this option if you can't see content on the shared screen, or when others can't see your content on the shared screen.
- Use hardware acceleration to optimize video sharing (macOS): Utilizes the hardware decoder on the video card to conserve CPU usage when screen sharing.
- Screen capture mode: These options refer to the method we use to capture the screen for screen sharing. Changing this setting could result in some content, such as drop-down menus or modals, not being shared.
- Auto (default): Zoom automatically tries to choose the best method to use for screen share.
- Capture with window filtering: This method will share your screen without showing windows from the Zoom desktop client.
- Advanced capture with window filtering: This method will share your screen, include motion detection (when you move a window or play a movie), and will not show windows from the Zoom desktop client.
- Advanced capture without window filtering: This method will share your screen, include motion detection (when you move a window or play a movie), and will show windows from the Zoom desktop client.
- Legacy/Previous operating systems: This option can be applicable if you are not on the latest Windows or macOS operating systems, or don't have certain video drivers. If this option isn't enabled, a blank screen may appear on participants' screens while the host shares their screen.
Note: If Show Zoom windows during screen share is enabled, the screen capture mode will override that setting.
- Secure share with window filtering (Windows): When selected, only the content in the window is shared. Any content that may be in the background during transitions, such as minimizing/maximizing the window or moving windows around, will never be shared.
- Enable hardware acceleration for (Windows):
- Screen sharing: Disable this option if participants are reporting issues viewing your shared screen.
- Annotations on a shared screen or whiteboard: Disable this option if you can't make annotations on the shared screen.
- Use hardware acceleration to optimize video sharing: Utilizes the hardware decoder on the video card to conserve CPU usage when screen sharing.