A shared line group allows your Zoom Phone admin to share a phone number and extension (shared line) with a group of phone users or common area phones.
The following terms are used in this article:
If you're a member of a shared line group, follow this article to use your shared line group on a supported desk phone.
This article covers:
Before making a call, you can select a shared line to use for the call. The line you select determines your outbound caller ID number.
Note: Unlike the Zoom Desktop Client and Mobile App, shared lines are not labelled with the shared line group's name. To help you identify shared lines, customize your line key settings.
All members will be able to see when a shared line is being used by another member.
Note: Unlike the Zoom Desktop Client and Mobile App, desk phones don't display the name of the member using the shared line.
On your phone, look for the following indicators that the shared line is being used by a member:
In addition to the icon below, the indicator light for the line key will be solid red.
Look for the following icon along with the label Talking.
If someone calls a shared line, the call notification will display the shared line group's name and the shared line that is receiving the call.
After answering a call for a shared line group, you can transfer the call to another member, phone user, or external number.
Note: Desk phones do not support the contacts directory. When transferring using a desk phone, you need to dial the internal extension number or external direct number. Alternatively, you can flip the call to the Zoom Desktop Client or Mobile App, then transfer the call by using your contacts directory.
Members can view all call history for the shared lines. If a member deletes a call history entry related to a shared line, the entry will only be deleted for the member that made the deletion.
Call history entries are labelled as follows:
All members can play and manage voicemail messages left for shared lines. Take note of the following when managing voicemails for shared line groups:
Note: Your Zoom Phone admin can revoke your access to a shared line group's voicemail inbox while keeping you a member of the shared line group. If you don't see the shared line group's voicemails, contact your Zoom Phone admin.