Configuring automatic Zoom Phone activation
Account owners and admins can provision pending users with Zoom Phone licenses, phone numbers, call queues, and other features before users accept their account invitation. They can also control when users receive email notifications, access the Phone tab, and start making and receiving calls. Additionally, admins can filter and differentiate between pending and active users throughout the Phone system section in the Zoom web portal. This enables admins to fully set up and train their users before granting them access to Zoom Phone.
Account owners and admins can automatically activate Zoom Phone for users once they are assigned a calling plan. They can also disable this setting to allow admins to manually activate Zoom Phone for users. Admins can change how users are notified of their access by visiting the Notifications section on their Company Info's Account Settings page.
Requirements for configuring Zoom Phone automatic activation for users
- Either a Zoom Workplace license with Phone included, or a standalone Zoom Phone calling plan
- Account owner or admin privileges
How to enable or disable automatic Zoom Phone activation for users
Account
To enable or disable Activate Zoom Phone users automatically for all users in the account:
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Settings
. - Click Zoom Phone.
- Under Account Configuration, do one of the following depending on your license:
- For Zoom Workplace Enterprise licenses: Click the Automatic Phone Assignment for Zoom Workplace Licenses toggle to enable or disable it.
Notes:
- If you already set up Zoom Phone and are switching to Zoom Workplace Enterprise, this setting will be disabled by default for your account.
- If you have Zoom Workplace Enterprise, depending on your Zoom Phone assignment during setup, this setting will show as enabled or disabled.
- A change in the account setting will only impact your future users.
- For other Zoom Workplace licenses: Click the Activate Zoom Phone users automatically toggle to enable or disable it.
Notes:
- If you don't see Activate Zoom Phone users automatically, contact Zoom Support to make this setting available for your account.
- (Optional) If you have multiple sites, click the Activation site dropdown and select which site users will automatically be added to when assigned a calling plan.
How to manually manage phone user access to Zoom Phone
Notes:
- Deactivation prevents users from making calls and removes them from all phone groups.
- Activation allows immediate access to Zoom Phone for this user. They will be notified of their access if notifications are enabled.
Manage Zoom Phone access when adding new Zoom users
Account owners and admins who are new to Zoom Phone will be informed of the automatic phone activation feature before they start adding users. They will receive an Automatically activate Zoom Phone users pop-up window that appears before an admin can add users to Zoom Phone. This is only shown once to each admin.
In the pop-up window, admins can choose Change to manual activation or Keep automatic activation.
Manage phone user access to Zoom Phone from the Profile page
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Product configuration.
- Click Phone system, then click Users & Rooms.
- Click the Users tab.
- Click the name of the phone user that you want to manage.
- Click the Profile tab.
- In the Activation Status section, view the user's activation status for Zoom Phone.
An Activated status indicates a user has access to Zoom Phone. Users are Ready to activate after they accept their Zoom account invitation and are no longer pending under User Status. - Manage the phone user's activation status, depending on their current status:
- When the user has an Activated status, click Deactivate to deactivate their Zoom Phone access.
- When the user has a Ready to Activate status, click Activate to allow access to Zoom Phone.
- If a confirmation dialog appears, click Deactivate or Activate to confirm.
Manage phone user access to Zoom Phone from the Users & Rooms page
Manage a single phone user
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Product configuration.
- Click Phone system, then click Users & Rooms.
- Click the Users tab.
- To the right of the phone user that you want to manage, click the ellipsis
, then select the activation status from the menu, depending on their current status:
- When the user has an Activated status, click Deactivate to deactivate their Zoom Phone access.
- When the user has a Ready to activate status, click Activate to allow access to Zoom Phone.
- If a confirmation window appears, click Activate or Deactivate to confirm.
The user's activation status will be reflected in the Activation Status column in the Users tab.
Manage multiple phone users
Note: Some users cannot be activated on Zoom Phone and will be omitted from your selection. Omitted users are either already activated or in a pending status (users must accept their Zoom invite to be eligible for activation).
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Product configuration then Phone system followed by Users & Rooms.
- Click the Users tab.
- To the left of the phone users you want to manage, select the checkboxes.
- (Optional) To select all users, to the left of Name, select the checkbox.
- At the top of the page, select the activation status, depending on their current status:
- When the users have an Activated status, click Deactivate to deactivate their Zoom Phone access.
- When the users have a Ready to activate status, click Activate to allow access to Zoom Phone.
- If a confirmation window appears, click Activate or Deactivate to confirm.
The users' activation status will be reflected in the Activation Status column in the Users tab.
How to manually assign the Zoom Phone feature to your Zoom Workplace Enterprise users
If you are a brand new Zoom Workplace Enterprise account and decided during the Zoom Phone setup to manually assign Zoom Phone to your users or you already had Zoom phone licenses and switched to Zoom Workplace and kept the manual assignment process, follow these instructions.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- Assign a Zoom Workplace Enterprise license to your new user in Users.
- In the side menu, click Product configuration.
- Click Phone system, then click Users & Rooms.
- Click the Users tab.
- Click the Zoom Phone Pending tab to review the list of Zoom Workplace Enterprise users pending to be assigned the Zoom Phone feature.
If you selected the manual Zoom Phone assignment during setup, all existing Zoom Workplace Enterprise users will automatically be listed in this tab. - (Optional) Click the Zoom Phone Assigned tab to review the list of users assigned to the Zoom Phone feature.
If you selected the automatic Zoom Phone assignment during setup, all existing Zoom Workplace Enterprise users will automatically be listed in the Zoom Phone Assigned tab. The account owners will be listed in this tab by default regardless of whether the Zoom Workplace license was assigned to them. - In the Zoom Phone Pending tab, do one of the following to assign Zoom Phone:
- For one user: Identify the user you want to assign the Zoom Phone feature, on the far right click Assign, then in the Assign Zoom Phone Feature dialog window, click Confirm.
- For multiple users: Click the checkboxes to select the users, on the top left click Assign, then in the Assign Zoom Phone Feature dialog window, click Confirm.
- For all users: On the top right click Assign All users, then in the Assign Zoom Phone Feature dialog window, select the I understand this action cannot be undone checkbox, then click Confirm.
- Using a CSV file for batch assignment: At the top of the page, click Assign via CSV, in the Assign Users via CSV dialog window, click CSV sample to view the required information and download the sample template, then click Upload CSV, and click Close.
- (Optional) To export the list of your pending users: On the top left, click Export to CSV.
A CSV file will be automatically downloaded to your computer.