Managing notes created with Clinical Notes

Clinical Notes provides healthcare professionals with an integrated solution to help generate clinical notes during in-person and virtual patient-clinician interactions. With Clinical Notes, clinicians can search for and sort notes based on creation date, last modified date, or retention period. Clinical Notes can be updated, renamed, or permanently deleted as needed. Additionally, users can complete notes and transfer them to an integrated electronic health record (EHR) system for further documentation.

Requirements for managing notes created with Clinical Notes

Table of Contents

How to manage notes created with Clinical Notes

Notes generated with Clinical Notes can be accessed, edited, reviewed, archived, or deleted from the Clinical Notes tab in the desktop or mobile app. Notes in Visits are retained for 7 days by default, while archived notes are kept for 3 days by default before permanent deletion. Clinicians can also restore archived notes to Visits, copy notes, or apply a new template to regenerate note content at any time. 

Note: Clinical Notes are retained for 7 days by default in the Visits tab, and 3 days by default in the Archive tab. Learn more about managing retention settings for Clinical Notes.

Accessing a note created with Clinical Notes

Windows | macOS

To access notes you have created:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the navigation bar, click the Clinical Notes tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Clinical Notes tab , click the More tab , then click the Clinical Notes tab .
  3. Click the Visits tab.
    The notes that have been generated will be displayed.
  4. Click the title of a note to open and view it.
    The note will load with the content generated with the template selected during the session.
  5. In the note, you can edit the content directly within the note.
  6. (Optional) In the top right corner of the note, click the View Transcript icon [Transcript icon] to view the transcript of the visit.
  7. (Optional) In addition to viewing and editing the note, at the bottom of the note you can click one or more of the following options:
    • Copy note: Creates a copy of the note.
    • Archive: Archives the note.
    • Template: Allows you to select a new template and regenerate the note using the template.
Android | iOS

To access notes you have created:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace mobile app.
  2. In the navigation bar, tap the Clinical Note tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Clinical Note tab, tap the More tab, then tap the Clinical Note tab .
  3. Tap the Visits tab.
  4. Tap the title of a note to open and view it.
    The note will load with the content generated with the template selected during the session.
  5. In the note, double-tap the screen to edit the content directly within the note.
  6. (Optional) In addition to viewing and editing the note, at the bottom of the note you can tap one or more of the following options:
    • Template: Allows you to select a new template and regenerate the note using the template.
    • Copy: Creates a copy of the note.
    • Archive: Archives the note.

Deleting notes in Clinical Notes

Windows | macOS

To permanently delete a note from the Visits tab:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the navigation bar, click the Clinical Notes tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Clinical Notes tab , click the More tab , then click the Clinical Notes tab .
  3. Click the Visits tab.
    The notes that have been generated will be displayed.
  4. Next to the notes you want to delete, click the checkbox to select the notes.
  5. Click Delete forever.
  6. When prompted for confirmation, click Delete.
Android | iOS
  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace mobile app.
  2. In the navigation bar, tap the Clinical Note tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Clinical Note tab, tap the More tab, then tap the Clinical Note tab .
  3. Tap the Visits tab.
    The notes that have been generated will be displayed.
  4. Tap Select.
  5. Next to the notes you want to delete, tap the radio button to select the note.
  6. Tap the Delete icon .
  7. When prompted for confirmation, tap Delete.

Accessing archived notes in Clinical Notes

Note: Archived notes will be permanently deleted after 3 days by default.

Windows | macOS

To access and manage notes that have been archived:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace desktop app.
  2. In the navigation bar, click the Clinical Notes tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Clinical Notes tab , click the More tab , then click the Clinical Notes tab .
  3. Click the Archive tab.
    The notes that have been archived will be displayed.
  4. (Optional) Next to the desired notes, click the checkbox and select one of the additional options:
    • Restore to Visits: Restores the note back to the Visits section.
    • Delete forever: Deletes the note permanently and removes the note from the Archive.
  5. (Optional) Click the note to view the note and/or Copy the note.
Android | iOS

To access and manage notes that have been archived:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom Workplace mobile app.
  2. In the navigation bar, tap the Clinical Note tab .
    Note: If you do not see the Clinical Note tab, tap the More tab, then tap the Clinical Note tab .
  3. Tap the Archive tab.
    The notes that have been archived will be displayed.
  4. (Optional) Next to the desired notes, click the checkbox and select one of the additional options:
    • Restore : Restores the note back to the Visits tab.
    • Delete : Deletes the note permanently and removes the note from the Archive tab.
  5. (Optional) Tap the note to view the note and/or Copy the note.