Configuring the custom message for AI

Account owners and admins can require meeting attendees to provide explicit consent before being recorded for AI. When enabled, non-host participants join meetings with their camera and microphone disabled until they accept the custom AI notice. The notice displays for 90 seconds with options to accept or leave the meeting. If participants don't respond, they remain in the meeting but cannot unmute or turn on their camera until providing consent.

Requirements for using the custom message for AI

Table of Contents

How to configure the custom message for AI

Enable or disable custom message for AI

Account

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Show a custom message when turning on AI in a meeting for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Zoom AI.
  5. Under Meeting, click the Show a custom message when turning on AI in a meeting toggle to enable or disable it.
    When enabled, you can create your own message that will be shown when turning on AI in a meeting.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Show a custom message when turning on AI in a meeting for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. Click the Zoom AI tab.
  7. Under Meeting, click the Show a custom message when turning on AI in a meeting toggle to enable or disable it.
    When enabled, you can create your own message that will be shown when turning on AI in a meeting.
  8. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  9. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Set up a custom message

  1. Enable Show a custom message when turning on AI in a meeting.
  2. Click Manage message.
    A pop-up window will appear.
  3. Under Display for, select one, or select all of the following check boxes:
  4. Under Show the same message to internal and external users?, select either Yes or No.
    This option will only appear if more than one check box is selected under Display for.
  5. Under Require users to agree to recording and transcription?, select either Yes or No.
  6. Under Languages, click the dropdown and select your preferred languages.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Write a message for the participants by including a message title and body.
  9. (Optional) In the top-right corner of the message, click Preview to see how the message will appear to participants.
  10. (Optional) Below the message box, click + Add Link to add the Link URL and Link Text.
  11. Click Save.

How to enable or disable Zoom AI notices for Phone users

You can modify the Zoom AI notices - Phone users setting for your meeting participants who join by phone. By default, participants who join by phone will hear one audio notification indicating that AI has started, but you can also enable multiple notifications for phone users.

Account

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Zoom AI notices - Phone users for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings  .
  4. Click Zoom AI.
  5. Under Meeting, then Zoom AI notices - Phone users, select any or both of the following settings:
  6. Click Save.

Group

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Zoom AI notices - Phone users for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users  .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. Click the Zoom AI tab.
  7. Under Meeting, then Zoom AI notices - Phone users, select any or both of the following settings: Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  8. Click Save. 

User

This setting allows individual users to enable or disable Zoom AI notices - Phone users for their personal account. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Profile.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings  .
  4. Click Recording.
  5. Under Notifications then Recording notifications - Phone users, select any or both of the following settings:
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  6. Click Save.