Enabling or disabling meeting transcripts

Transcripts are the saved record of meeting content, used for retaining and saving speech-to-text data in the meeting. Transcripts are not enabled by default–a host or admin must explicitly turn them on. Hosts can manage transcripts during meetings, and participants can request transcript access during a meeting. 

When transcripts are enabled, transcripts are generated and retained according to the host’s meeting transcript settings. Admins can configure transcripts to always be on for all meetings in their organization.

Learn more about meeting transcripts.

Account admins can manage whether or not meeting transcripts can be generated with meeting summary when they select Meetings with meeting summary under Automatically generate transcripts for. When this setting is on, hosts are able to decide at the meeting level whether or not they want to retain a transcript. If retained, hosts and other meeting participants within your organization can use these transcripts with Meeting summary features enabled on your account. For example, users can ask post meeting questions using the AI Chat, or they can generate Zoom Canvas document from these meeting transcripts with Canvas content generation and revision with AI

An additional subsetting is available that permits meeting hosts to directly view and delete meeting transcripts generated with meeting summaries. When this setting is enabled, the transcripts are accessible by meeting hosts and can be downloaded as a VTT file from the list of available transcripts in the Recording and Transcripts tab.

These transcripts cannot be shared directly through Zoom.

Requirements for enabling or disabling meeting transcripts

Table of Contents

How to enable or disable meeting transcripts

Account owners and admins can enable or disable meeting transcript settings for the entire account or for specific user groups. They can lock the settings and sub-settings to prevent members from changing them. If admins do not lock them, users can enable or disable meeting transcripts in their personal settings.

Enable or disable Meeting transcript for the entire account

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Meeting transcript for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Meeting.
  5. Under In Meeting (Advanced), click the Meeting transcript toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) Select or clear the check boxes next to the following sub-settings to enable or disable them, then click Save:
  8. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon  , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable Meeting transcript for a group of users

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Meeting transcript for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click the Meeting tab.
  8. Under In Meeting (Advanced), click the Meeting transcript toggle to enable or disable it.
  9. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  10. (Optional) Select or clear the check boxes next to the following sub-settings to enable or disable them, then click Save:
  11. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon  , and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable Meeting transcript for your personal account

This setting allows individual users to enable or disable Meeting transcript for their personal use.
You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click My account.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Meeting.
  5. Under In Meeting (Advanced), click the Meeting transcript toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You cannot change it yourself and must contact your Zoom admin.
  7. (Optional) Select or clear the check boxes next to the following sub-settings to enable or disable them, then click Save: