Enabling or disabling restricted access on unmanaged devices

Restricted access on unmanaged devices lets Zoom Phone admins control whether users can access Zoom Phone and sensitive content when signing in from devices that aren't enrolled in Zoom Device Management (ZDM). When this setting is enabled, admins can restrict Zoom Phone on desktop and mobile for users on unmanaged devices, and automatically block access to sensitive content for those users. This is useful for organizations that need to allow users to sign in from personal or unmanaged devices while still protecting sensitive phone data from being accessed outside approved, managed devices.

Note: When users sign in from an unmanaged device, access to the following data is automatically restricted, regardless of whether the Zoom Phone on desktop or mobile checkboxes are selected:

Requirements for enabling or disabling restricted access on unmanaged devices

Table of Contents

How to enable or disable restricted access on unmanaged devices

Account

To enable or disable restricted access for all users in the account:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings . 
  4. Click Zoom Phone.
  5. Under General, click the Restricted access on unmanaged devices toggle to enable or disable it.
    If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  6. When enabled, configure the following options as needed:
  7. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon , then click Lock to confirm.

Group

To enable or disable restricted access for a group of users:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users then Groups.
  4. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  5. Click the Zoom Phone tab.
  6. Under General, click the Restricted access on unmanaged devices toggle to enable or disable it.
    If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. When enabled, configure the following options as needed:
  8. (Optional) To prevent users in this group from changing this setting, click the lock icon , then click Lock to confirm.

Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and must be changed at that level.

Site

To enable or disable restricted access for a site:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit sites.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Product configuration, then click Phone system, followed by Company Info.
  4. Click the applicable site name from the list.
  5. Click the Policy tab.
  6. Under General, click the Restricted access on unmanaged devices toggle to enable or disable it.
    If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. When enabled, configure the following options as needed:
  8. (Optional) To prevent users at this site from changing this setting, click the lock icon , then click Lock to confirm.

Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the account or group level and must be changed at that level.

User

To enable or disable restricted access for a specific user extension:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit phone users.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Product configuration, then click Phone system, followed by Users & Rooms.
  4. Click the Users tab.
  5. Click the applicable phone username from the list.
  6. Click the User Settings tab.
  7. Under General, click the Restricted access on unmanaged devices toggle to enable or disable it.
    If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  8. When enabled, configure the following options as needed:

Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the account, group, or site level and must be changed at that level.