Sensitivity labels in Zoom Whiteboard let you apply the correct settings for your organization based on the whiteboard's level of confidentiality. It replaces the standalone classification labels that were previously managed separately.
Requirements for managing sensitivity labels in Zoom Whiteboard
How to set up sensitivity labels in Zoom Whiteboard
Manage in Zoom
Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit settings.
In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
In the side menu, click Security & Trust then Sensitivity labels.
Select Manage in Zoom then click Get started.
Complete the setup wizard:
Set up labels: Keep or remove existing labels, or add new labels These are the sample sensitivity labels you can edit or remove:
Public: Content that can be publicly disclosed and has no access restrictions
Internal: For internal use only; external sharing is prohibited
Confidential: Confidential information should be accessed only as required
Highly Confidential: Highly confidential, for authorized personnel only, downloading and distribution are prohibited
Set scope: Check the box for Whiteboard. Not making any selection will make the label as display-only.
Configure settings for each label: Allows you to configure the label sensitivity policies based on your organization’s preference.
Click Create label.
From the Turn on sensitivity labels when you’re done with setup so users can start applying them to assets banner, click View steps.
Click Account Settings or Groups, depending on which setting level you want to enable sensitivity labels under. Clicking Account Settings will take you to Admin Center > Settings > General > Security > Enable sensitivity labels. Clicking Groups will take you to Admin Center > Users > Groups > Select preferred group > General > Security > Enable sensitivity labels.
Click Close.
Sync with Microsoft Purview
Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit settings.
In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
In the side menu, click Security & Trust then Sensitivity labels.
Select Sync with Microsoft Purview then click Get started.
Complete the setup wizard:
Import labels from Microsoft Purview: Prompts you to sign in to Microsoft Purview and connect it with Zoom
Review labels: Allows you to review all the labels you have imported from Microsoft Purview Note: If any label needs to be updated, make the changes in Microsoft Purview. Go back to Web portal and click the Refresh icon from the Review imported labels page.
Set scope: Check the box for Whiteboard. Not making any selection will make the label as display-only.
Configure settings for each label: Allows you to configure the label sensitivity policies based on your organization’s preference.
Click Create label.
From the Turn on sensitivity labels when you’re done with setup so users can start applying them to assets banner, click View steps.
Click Account Settings or Groups, depending on which setting level you want to enable sensitivity labels under. Clicking Account Settings will take you to Admin Center > Settings > General > Security > Enable sensitivity labels. Clicking Groups will take you to Admin Center > Users > Groups > Select preferred group > General > Security > Enable sensitivity labels.
Click Close.
User
How to apply sensitivity labels to a whiteboard
When enabled and configured, users can apply sensitivity labels to a whiteboard. If you don’t see the sensitivity label badge in the whiteboard, contact your Zoom administration to ensure the feature is enabled for your account.
If an admin archives a sensitivity label, any whiteboard that uses that label will show a warningicon and you have to select another sensitivity label. You can choose to upgrade or downgrade the sensitivity label for a whiteboard.
When applying sensitivity labels, take note of the following:
You cannot change a whiteboard sensitivity label from active to unclassified or archived.
You cannot change a whiteboard sensitivity label back to unclassified when you apply a label to it.
How sensitivity labels appear in a whiteboard
Owner
Viewer or commenter
Frequently asked questions
Who can apply a sensitivity label to a whiteboard?
Board owners, co-owners, and admins with content edit permissions can apply a label.
As an admin, can I allow specific admins to view the sensitivity label change history?
Yes, you can add permission on the role detail page to allow a specific admin to view the report.
Can I hide the sensitivity label on my whiteboard?
No, the label is always visible and cannot be hidden. It appears on invites, during meeting and calls, while you edit documents, and in search results.
Why does my whiteboard show "Unclassified"?
Whiteboards created before sensitivity labels were enabled don't have a label assigned, so they're automatically marked as Unclassified. You can apply an active label at any time, but you can't revert the board to Unclassified afterward.