Enabling or disabling Prevent screen capture
The Prevent screen capture setting helps account owners and admins control whether users can take screenshots during a Zoom meeting. When this setting is enabled, the Zoom meeting window will not appear in any images captured using print screen functions or third-party screen capture tools on the user's device. This includes content shared during the meeting, such as screens, videos, whiteboards, in-meeting chat, captions, polls, and quizzes.
Learn more about how you can use the Prevent screen capture feature.
Requirements for enabling or disabling Prevent screen capture
- Account owner or admin privileges to manage the settings
Limitations of using the Prevent screen capture
- This feature can only be enabled or disabled from the Web portal and when scheduling a meeting from the Zoom Workplace app. It does not come with a Zoom Workplace App in-meeting settings that can be changed during a meeting
- This feature is available only on macOS and Windows (6.7.0 or higher) | iOS (7.0.0 or higher) and Android (7.1.0 or higher)
- Users on the Web app or Linux can only join in audio-only mode.
- Users on an unsupported Zoom Workplace app version will be redirected to the Web app and will be limited to audio-only mode.
- If a user is connected to an external DisplayLink monitor, the meeting window may turn gray because the system recognizes the external screen as a screen recording device. This is a system-level behavior that cannot be changed. To avoid this, disconnect the external DisplayLink monitor or disable the Prevent Screen Capture setting.
How to enable or disable Prevent screen capture
Note: The settings configured in the Web portal will take effect when a host starts an instant meeting.
Enable or disable Prevent screen capture for the entire account
This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Prevent screen capture for all users in the account.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Settings
. - Click Meeting.
- Under the In Meeting (Advanced), click the Prevent screen capture toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
- (Optional) To prevent all users in the account from changing this setting, click the lock icon
, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
Enable or disable Prevent screen capture for a group of users
This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Prevent screen capture for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Groups.
- Click the applicable group name from the list.
- Click the Meeting tab.
- Under the In Meeting (Advanced), click the Prevent screen capture toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
- (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon
, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
Enable or disable Prevent screen capture for your personal account
This setting allows individual users to enable or disable Prevent screen capture for their personal use. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click My account.
- In the side menu, click Settings
. - Click Meeting.
- Under the In Meeting (Advanced), click the Prevent screen capture toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You cannot change it yourself and must contact your Zoom admin.