Enabling and customizing the waiting room

The waiting room feature allows the host to control when a participant joins the meeting. As the meeting host, you can admit participants one by one, or hold all participants in the waiting room and admit them all at once. You can send all participants to the waiting room when joining your meeting, or you can allow participants from your Zoom account, participants with specified domains, or meeting invitees to bypass the waiting room. As the host, you can also choose to automatically move participants to the waiting room while a meeting is in progress if you lose connection from the meeting.

Once you've enabled and customized your waiting room, learn more about how to manage the waiting room

Requirements for enabling and customizing the waiting room for meetings

 

Table of Contents

How to enable or disable waiting room

Enable or disable waiting room for the entire account

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Waiting room for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Meeting.
  5. Under Security, click the Enable waiting room toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) If you enabled waiting room, under Waiting Room Options:
  8. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

If you have enabled Waiting room for all users in the account, you can also allow hosts or co-hosts to rename participants in the waiting room before they enter the meeting.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click Meeting.
  5. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Allow host or co-host to rename participants in the waiting room toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock  icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable waiting room for a group of users

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable Waiting room for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click Meeting.
  8. Under Security, click the Waiting Room toggle to enable or disable it.
  9. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  10. (Optional) If you enabled waiting room, under Waiting Room Options:
  11. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock  icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

If you have enabled Waiting room for a group of users, you can also allow hosts or co-hosts to rename participants in the waiting room before they enter the meeting.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click Meeting.
  8. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Allow host or co-host to rename participants in the waiting room toggle to enable or disable it.
  9. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  10. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable waiting room for your personal account

This setting allows individual users to enable or disable Waiting room for their personal account. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click My account.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings.
  4. Click Meeting.
  5. Under Security, click the Waiting Room toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account or group level. You need to contact your Zoom admin.
  7. (Optional) If you enabled waiting room, under Waiting Room Options:

Once you've enabled Waiting room, you can also enable the ability for yourself (host) or co-hosts of your meeting to rename participants in the waiting room before they enter your meeting.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click My account.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings.
  4. Click Meeting.
  5. Under In Meeting (Basic), click the Allow host or co-host to rename participants in the waiting room toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account or group level and needs to be changed at that level.

How to configure waiting room options

Note: If the waiting room has been previously customized at the user level then disabled after, when waiting room is enabled in a meeting's settings, the meeting will use the user-level setting until it has been reset, or the account setting has been locked.

  1. Enable the Waiting room feature at the account, group, or user level.
  2. Below the Waiting Room Options, click Edit Options to configure the following settings as needed:
  3. Click Continue.
  4. (Optional) If you're an admin enabling or disabling waiting room options at the account or group level, to prevent users from changing this setting, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

How to customize the waiting room

You can customize the waiting room by adding a title and choosing to display an image, a logo and description, or a video. Customized waiting rooms are only visible when the meeting is scheduled with Waiting Room enabled. If enabled during a live meeting through the in-meeting security controls, participants will see the default waiting room. 

  1. Enable the Waiting Room feature at the account, group, or user level.
  2. Below the Waiting Room Options, click Customize Waiting Room.
    This will open the waiting room customization window. A preview of what the waiting room will appear to participants as is shown to the right and updates as changes are made.  

    The following customization options are available: 
     
  3. (Optional) Click the device toggle to switch between desktop and mobile previews.
  4. Click Save when you are finished customizing the waiting room.
    Participants will see your custom waiting room branding when they join the meeting.
  5. (Optional) If you're an admin enabling or disabling waiting room customization at the account or group level, to prevent users from changing this setting, click the lock icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.