Enabling or disabling meeting chat before and after the meeting
This feature allows meeting participants to communicate before, during, and after a meeting by creating a dedicated group chat in Zoom Chat for all meeting participants. When enabled, In-meeting chats will show up in that group chat as they are sent in the meeting, allowing continuous meeting chat even after a meeting ends.
Learn more about creating and using meeting chat before and after the meeting.
Requirements for enabling or disabling meeting chat before and after the meeting
- Account owner or admin privileges
Notes:
- The settings will be enabled by default for most customers. Enterprise customers will be enabled through the enterprise feature release controls.
- If the settings are enabled at the account, group, and user levels, all scheduled meetings will automatically include this feature.
How to enable or disable meeting chat before and after the meeting
Enable or disable meeting chat before and after the meeting for the entire account
This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable meeting chat before and after the meeting for all users in the account.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Settings
. - Click Meeting.
- Under Schedule Meeting, click the Allow users to access meeting chats before and after the meeting toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
- (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon
, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
Notes:
- When enabling this feature, both admins and end users will receive a notification regarding the settings of other affected features.
- If your account has enabled Advanced Chat Encryption, you will not be able to activate this feature.
Enable or disable meeting chat before and after the meeting for a group of users
This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable meeting chat before and after the meeting for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
- In the side menu, click Users
. - Click Groups.
- Click the applicable group name from the list.
- In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
- Click Meeting.
- Under Schedule Meeting, click the Allow users to access meeting chats before and after the meeting toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and must be changed at that level. - (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon
, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.
Enable or disable meeting chat before and after the meeting for your personal account
This setting allows individual users to enable or disable meeting chat before and after the meeting for their personal account. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.
- Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
- In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Settings.
- In the side menu, click Meeting.
- Under Schedule Meeting, click the Allow users to access meeting chats before and after the meeting toggle to enable or disable it.
- If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You cannot change it yourself and must contact your Zoom admin.