Enabling or disabling bidirectional calendar sync

With automatic bidirectional syncing,  the Zoom meetings that you create or update on either Zoom or supported external calendars will automatically sync across all integrated applications, such as the Zoom web portal, Zoom Workplace app, and integrated calendars. Once you integrate your external calendar with Zoom, bidirectional syncing is enabled by default. If bidirectional sync is enabled, Zoom will store the third party calendar access token on Zoom Cloud.

Note: Bidirectional sync is being gradually rolled out to all paid users, with full rollout expected by the end of September 2026.

Requirements for enabling or disabling calendar event syncing

Limitations of bidirectional calendar sync

Table of Contents

How to enable or disable calendar event bidirectional synchronization

Note: Enabling Bidirectional sync will not make any changes to meetings that have already been scheduled but only affect syncing of newly scheduled meetings and existing meetings that are updated by a user after the switch is enabled.

Enable or disable bidirectional sync for the entire

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable bidirectional sync for all users in the account.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings  .
  4. Click Mail & Calendar.
  5. Under Data Sync, click the Bidirectional sync for Zoom meeting data between Zoom web portal and calendars toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock  icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable bidirectional sync for a group of users

This setting allows account owners or admins to enable or disable bidirectional sync for a specific group of users. Changes apply only to users in the selected group.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users  .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. Click the Mail & Calendar tab.
  7. Under Data Sync, click the Bidirectional sync for Zoom meeting data between Zoom web portal and calendars toggle to enable or disable it.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  8. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  9. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock  icon, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Enable or disable bidirectional sync for your personal account

This setting allows individual users to enable or disable bidirectional sync for their personal account. You do not need admin permissions to change the setting, unless it is locked by an admin for the entire account or a group of users.

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click My account.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings  .
  4. Click the Mail & Calendar tab.
  5. Under Data Sync, click the Bidirectional sync for Zoom meeting data between Zoom web portal and calendars toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You need to contact your Zoom admin.