Muting all participants when they join a meeting

Account owners and admins can choose to automatically mute all participants when they join a meeting. This setting will disable all participants’ audio when they first join the meeting. The host can control whether participants can mute or unmute themselves during a meeting. This meeting setting can help manage participants and prevent distractions and interruptions during a meeting.

Requirements for automatically muting participants when they join a meeting

Table of Contents

How to enable or disable Mute all participants when they join a meeting

Account

To enable or disable Mute all participants when they join a meeting for all users in the account:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit account settings.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Settings .
  4. Click the Meeting tab.
  5. Under Schedule Meeting, click the Mute all participants when they join a meeting toggle to enable or disable it.
  6. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
  7. (Optional) To prevent all users in your account from changing this setting, click the lock icon unlocked-button.png, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

Group

To enable or disable Mute all participants when they join a meeting for a group of users:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal as an admin with the privilege to edit groups.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Admin Center.
  3. In the side menu, click Users .
  4. Click Groups.
  5. Click the applicable group name from the list.
  6. In the General configuration section, click Edit product settings.
  7. Click the Meeting tab.
  8. Under Schedule Meeting, click the Mute all participants when they join a meeting toggle to enable or disable it.
  9. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at the account level and needs to be changed at that level.
  10. (Optional) To prevent all users in the group from changing this setting, click the lock icon unlocked-button.png, and then click Lock to confirm the setting.

User

To enable or disable Mute all participants when they join a meeting for your own use:

  1. Sign in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. In the top-right corner, click your profile picture or initials, then click Settings.
  3. Click the Meeting tab.
  4. Under Schedule Meeting, click the Mute all participants when they join a meeting toggle to enable or disable it.
  5. If a verification dialog appears, click Enable or Disable to verify the change.
    Note: If the option is grayed out, it has been locked at either the group or account level. You need to contact your Zoom admin.